Thursday 23 February 2017

Harriet Scott Selected for Republic of Ireland Squad

The 24 year-old defender has been included in Colin Bell’s squad for the Cyprus Cup.

Scott, 24, has been selected by Republic of Ireland manager Colin Bell for his squad for the 2017 Cyprus Cup. The defender, who has spent 15 years with the Royals, has previous experience in U17s and U19s squads, including an U17 World Cup and European Championship, but has never previously been selected for a senior squad.

On news of her selection Scott said “I’m delighted to have been called up for the seniors. It’s always a proud moment to get called up for your country. The squad is really strong and I just can’t wait to meet up with the team and get started!”.

Scott will join team mates Rachel Rowe, Melissa Fletcher, Charlie Estcourt (Wales) and Anna Green (New Zealand) in taking part in this year’s Cyprus Cup, and will face her Welsh counterparts on the 6th of March.

Cyprus Cup 2017 Schedule:


Group A – Belgium, Italy, Korea DPR, Switzerland.

Group B – Austria, Korea Republic, New Zealand, Scotland.

Group C – Czech Republic, Republic of Ireland, Hungary, Wales.


GSZ Stadium (Larnaca), GSP Stadium (Nicisia), Tasos Marko (Paralimni), Ammochostos (Larnaca).

Fixtures (all times are local and all venues to be confirmed – all subject to change)

1st March

Group A – Korea DPR v Italy (2.30pm) and Belgium v Switzerland (5.30pm)

Group B – New Zealand v Scotland (2.30pm) and Korea Republic v Austria (5.30pm)

Group C – Czech Republic v Republic of Ireland (2.30pm) and Hungary v Wales (5.30pm)

3rd March

Group A – Switzerland v Korea DPR (2.30pm) and Italy v Belgium (5.30pm)

Group B – Austria v New Zealand (2.30pm) and Scotland v Korea Republic (5.30pm)

Group C – Wales v Czech Republic (2.30pm) and Republic of Ireland v Hungary (5.30pm)

6th March

Group A – Italy v Switzerland and Korea DPR v Belgium (Both 2.30pm)

Group B – Austria v Scotland and New Zealand v Korea Republic (Both 5.30pm)

Group C – Republic of Ireland v Wales (2.30pm) and Czech Republic v Hungary (5.30pm)

8th March

Final Day – Kick-off TBC.